Roland Boutique

Keyboards, Synths, Samplers and Groove Boxes.

Moderators: MetroSonus, Plink Floyd

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby gregwar » Mon Oct 26, 2015 6:04 am

:like: :like:
User avatar
gregwar
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:59 pm

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby selfinflikted » Mon Oct 26, 2015 11:51 am

I wonder if added MIDI CCs would be something Roland could/would add in a firmware update? Is that even possible? I assume it is. I will be a-pray'n and a-wish'n and a-hope'n.

Yes I will.
User avatar
selfinflikted
Down in it
 
Posts: 4656
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:32 am
Location: Mobile, Alabama

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby MetroSonus » Tue Oct 27, 2015 5:31 pm

wow that's actually shocking. No CC? Geez.,, I do agree they sound cool.. but between the tweezer sized controls and the no CC... Seriously?
User avatar
MetroSonus
My style, is the best style.
 
Posts: 8455
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby ElectricPuppy » Tue Oct 27, 2015 5:39 pm

So then the only control is via tweezers. Hmmm. Not sure if want.

I don't recall offhand if the original Juno would respond to CC for anything beyond the basics, either. I imagine it did, no?
User avatar
ElectricPuppy
The Banned Man
 
Posts: 7099
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 10:16 pm

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby selfinflikted » Tue Oct 27, 2015 5:44 pm

No idea about the original. And Yes, Metro, it's really kinda disappointing. Still, it sounds fantastic. For the money, it's a solid purchase.

EP, you really don't need tweezers, at least for the JU-06. The resistance on the sliders makes up for the small throw.
User avatar
selfinflikted
Down in it
 
Posts: 4656
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:32 am
Location: Mobile, Alabama

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby MetroSonus » Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:41 pm

I'd think they'd forgo analogs of the analogs and implement some CC?

I've played some mini laptop type controllers in the past that were like "come in tokyo.. come in tokyo...."
User avatar
MetroSonus
My style, is the best style.
 
Posts: 8455
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby selfinflikted » Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:46 pm

MetroSonus wrote:I'd think they'd forgo analogs of the analogs and implement some CC?

I've played some mini laptop type controllers in the past that were like "come in tokyo.. come in tokyo...."


LOL

Yea. I'm not sure about why no MIDI CC. I mean, they are MODULES. CC is kinda.. the point. That was an unexpected thing.

But, is this something they could add later with a firmware update?
User avatar
selfinflikted
Down in it
 
Posts: 4656
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:32 am
Location: Mobile, Alabama

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby ClavAnother » Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:06 pm

Now that I think about it, that definitely dumb. So first run, has a bug?
User avatar
ClavAnother
 
Posts: 4847
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 7:28 am

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby ClavAnother » Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:07 pm

Btw, my Stupider-08 is 'on the truck for delivery'. I should have it in a couple hours.
User avatar
ClavAnother
 
Posts: 4847
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 7:28 am

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby soundwave106 » Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:26 pm

ElectricPuppy wrote:I don't recall offhand if the original Juno would respond to CC for anything beyond the basics, either. I imagine it did, no?


Beyond the basics, it did not. However, the sliders transmitted Sysex and also could be controlled by Sysex.

Also, you could set the pitch bend to route to filter cutoff, and then use pitch bend CC to control it.

There's no smoothing, however, so the results could be (for better or for worse) "steppy".

It is a bit surprising Roland included so little CC control to be honest. I wouldn't think it would be that hard. Yes I would think they could add that in with a firmware update. If they wanted too...
BC | SC
User avatar
soundwave106
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:09 pm

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby ClavAnother » Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:44 pm

.


well...it fits.



Image

Image

Image
User avatar
ClavAnother
 
Posts: 4847
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 7:28 am

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby ElectricPuppy » Wed Oct 28, 2015 12:42 am

Very cool! :cool:
User avatar
ElectricPuppy
The Banned Man
 
Posts: 7099
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 10:16 pm

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby ClavAnother » Wed Oct 28, 2015 12:54 am

Looking at those pics I'm reminded that I haz too many keyboards. Who wants to buy a fizmo??
User avatar
ClavAnother
 
Posts: 4847
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 7:28 am

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby ClavAnother » Wed Oct 28, 2015 12:55 am

There's actually a polysix under the sledge and the 61
User avatar
ClavAnother
 
Posts: 4847
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 7:28 am

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby selfinflikted » Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:06 am

I emailed Roland, and got this response:

"Hello Michael,

We have been told that the engineering teams in Japan are aware of this [lack of MIDI implementation], and are now seeing if they can add this functionality. They have told us that they can not promise anything, but will try to add more MIDI functionality to the Boutique series synths.

Best Regards,

Product Support
Roland Corp. U.S."

Sounds at least a little hopeful?
User avatar
selfinflikted
Down in it
 
Posts: 4656
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:32 am
Location: Mobile, Alabama

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby selfinflikted » Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:10 am

As an aside, I did some research and apparently the boutiques send/receive sysex info for all sliders and knobs, only its 8bit somethingsomething instead of the 7bit somethingsomething that MIDI CCs normally use? I'm not quite so technically knowledgeable when it comes to MIDI data, so I have no idea if this is true or what it actually means in terms of getting CC messages to work. I mean, I know that they HAVE to send some sort of info for all the controls since you can hook two or more of them up for added polyphony, they'd have to talk to each other - it only makes sense. But I'm just extremely ignorant of the technical details of this kind of thing so I'm all..


lolwut?
User avatar
selfinflikted
Down in it
 
Posts: 4656
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:32 am
Location: Mobile, Alabama

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby selfinflikted » Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:12 am

Also, also...

Clav. I've never really heard you talk about the sledge. I assume you like? How come you don't post any reviews of your gears?
User avatar
selfinflikted
Down in it
 
Posts: 4656
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 11:32 am
Location: Mobile, Alabama

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby ClavAnother » Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:43 am

Too busy playing teh awesome synths :idk:
User avatar
ClavAnother
 
Posts: 4847
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 7:28 am

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby ClavAnother » Wed Oct 28, 2015 1:48 am

I still keep putting off the studio showcase thread thing. I've been meaning to document my setup there for years. Besides I don't always know how to talk about the gears. I could go on for several minutes about how the electro falls short of my demands (low note and F?????) but when it's some thing good, I often just happily play on I guess.

The sledge is a very powerful great sounding synth.




















But the filter cutoff knob is as far away as the one on the Prophet 10, and the panel really needs to tilt like a minimoog.











:)



.
User avatar
ClavAnother
 
Posts: 4847
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 7:28 am

Re: Roland Boutique

Postby soundwave106 » Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:45 am

selfinflikted wrote:lolwut?


The Google is throwing me a page claiming they sends Sysex... but only in chain mode. :facepalm: :eyes: They can read Sysex all of the time.

I'm not following Roland's strategy on this decision to be honest. Maybe they decided to use some non standard whiz bang sort of "MIDI message" to get chaining working like they wanted, and that it would be tougher than we think to include proprietary chaining + standard CC. Who knows. :idk:
BC | SC
User avatar
soundwave106
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:09 pm

PreviousNext

Return to KSS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron