Roland V-Synth GT

Keyboards, Synths, Samplers and Groove Boxes.

Moderators: MetroSonus, Plink Floyd

Re: Roland V-Synth GT

Postby christianrock » Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:37 pm

:grin:

I think you'll need a bigger V-Synth
User avatar
christianrock
has a runny bottom
 
Posts: 12168
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:44 pm

Re: Roland V-Synth GT

Postby gregwar » Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:53 pm

aaarrgth my v-synth gt touch screen seems to have died !!1 :mad:

it lights up and everything is displayed, but the touch is non-responsive

i haven't used it in a year, it was in storage. when i did use it i remember bringing it to my friends studio on a hot & humid day. i remember it was having issues but it still worked after that to my knowledge :facepalm:

anyways, i ordered a replacement 5.7" digitizer after looking on roland clan (gps screen ? lol). i'm not the only one to have had this issue and tried to follow the ordering advice. if the job is too difficult when it arrives i've also located a synth tech here.

durr my new set up was coming along nicely. i got the mac mini going (which still has a compatible driver). i can get audio & midi over usb but sadly most of the editing is done via the touch screen so its going to have to sit for a while until i get that sorted or i could just play presets :eyes:

i was getting excited to try the vocoder again as it did some really sweet stuff, also loading in samples from the mini, etc. will have to wait.
User avatar
gregwar
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:59 pm

Re: Roland V-Synth GT

Postby ElectricPuppy » Sun Sep 06, 2015 10:57 pm

ahh man, I hate when gear dies. :mad: Hope you get it fixed soon!

*eyes his own GT suspiciously*
User avatar
ElectricPuppy
The Banned Man
 
Posts: 7106
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 10:16 pm

Re: Roland V-Synth GT

Postby gregwar » Mon Sep 07, 2015 12:41 am

thanks for the kind words epee

I will proceed to drink and hope & pray this thing works after the replacement

:drink:

ps I used to have a great tech in Toronto. he fixed my Juno 106 and my virus c. there's a guy here in Winnipeg that's roger linn's adrenalinn support tech so I may have inadvertently found an awesum tech :silverlining:
User avatar
gregwar
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:59 pm

Re: Roland V-Synth GT

Postby Plink Floyd » Tue Sep 08, 2015 3:16 am

War, you're in winnepeg? As a kid, my pop took me fishing for a week @ Whiteshell Provincial Park. I found the Land of Loon to be fantastically awesum.

Send yer V to me, I'll fix it. I guarantee you'll have it back by the 5th

OF NEVAR!
User avatar
Plink Floyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 6324
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:13 am

Re: Roland V-Synth GT

Postby gregwar » Tue Sep 08, 2015 7:39 pm

lol

i tried it again today and it was working

its a much cooler day and i've had humidity issues with it before

rolard support doesn't recommend me doing the replacement the way i was thinking (just the digitizer) so hopefully it doesn't break anymore and just works.

the entire lcd/digitizer assembly i've read is quite expensive don't want !!1
User avatar
gregwar
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:59 pm

Re: Roland V-Synth GT

Postby christianrock » Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:02 pm

It sounds like a bad contact issue that can be triggered by something like humidity. Or God knows what.
User avatar
christianrock
has a runny bottom
 
Posts: 12168
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:44 pm

Previous

Return to KSS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests