Simple Hardware Question...

Keyboards, Synths, Samplers and Groove Boxes.

Moderators: MetroSonus, Plink Floyd

Simple Hardware Question...

Postby Plink Floyd » Thu May 20, 2010 6:13 am

Hello? Yeah, um, PC or Mac?

I'll hang up now and listen to the discussion on the air.
User avatar
Plink Floyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 6323
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:13 am

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby MetroSonus » Thu May 20, 2010 12:52 pm

PC is cost effective & ubiquitous. Windows 7 largely removes issues related with older operating systems such as constantly needing more resources. I love it personally.

Mac is more expensive and runs on the same hardware your PC does. You're paying mostly for looks and a branded user experience. I have no problem if you just like it, you're used to it or you think it's neat. I do if you think it "just works better". That just means that apple has to protect you from yourself and steve jobs has said as much in a melgomanicaly tirade:

http://gawker.com/5539717/steve-jobs-of ... -from-porn

and he actually says apple will keep your free from porn :lol:
User avatar
MetroSonus
My style, is the best style.
 
Posts: 8459
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby ElectricPuppy » Thu May 20, 2010 4:19 pm

I like the little Mac Mini because it's a closed hardware system. This means no flaky 3rd party hardware or drivers to fuck up the rest the system. I luvs me a stable system.

Even so, I run PCs, because everything I want to run only comes in PC flavor, or because I have to for job reasons, or because I'm just really comfortable with them having run PCs since nearly their inception.
User avatar
ElectricPuppy
The Banned Man
 
Posts: 7102
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 10:16 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby MetroSonus » Thu May 20, 2010 4:21 pm

my windows 7 laptop is pretty stable, but ironically the instability is now coming from Live 8. I need to download the update here..
User avatar
MetroSonus
My style, is the best style.
 
Posts: 8459
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby ElectricPuppy » Thu May 20, 2010 4:28 pm

I've been told that I really need to upgrade to Win7 because It's Better. I'm still running Vista on my home machines because that's what they came with, and honestly, I've never really had a problem with them. Except for that hassle with the Presonus, that is. :mad:
User avatar
ElectricPuppy
The Banned Man
 
Posts: 7102
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 10:16 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby MetroSonus » Thu May 20, 2010 4:35 pm

considering it's better than vista or me it's a legit gripe :mad:

but seriously.. the interface and allot of the features just didn't do it for me with vista. I never felt comfortable with it and when word was getting out that they were going to sideline it for 7, that sort of cemented the feeling. as far as I go, technically and visually its a huge improvement over previous operating systems.
User avatar
MetroSonus
My style, is the best style.
 
Posts: 8459
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby ElectricPuppy » Thu May 20, 2010 4:44 pm

What I really wish MS would do is strip the OS down to its bare-essentials and get rid of all those services and background bullshit that they run just in case. It's stupid. Here we are running multicore CPUs are many thousands of megahurts, and it STILL takes several minutes to boot up?

/rant
User avatar
ElectricPuppy
The Banned Man
 
Posts: 7102
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 10:16 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby Plink Floyd » Fri May 21, 2010 4:32 am

Image

This worked pretty well. Wasn't it DOS 5 that was so bloated that it came on TWO floppies? :facepalm:
User avatar
Plink Floyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 6323
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:13 am

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby deaf dunderkwac » Fri May 28, 2010 6:31 pm

pc's suck no matter which fruity version u use.
hardly any issues with xp32 so I haven't upgraded to 7 but I have xp64 and for a *very* short time vista

I preferred DOS6- lol
and I've never cared for the mac-lock methods as I've never met a mac that I couldn't crash (hard)
User avatar
deaf dunderkwac
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:28 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby carbon111 » Fri May 28, 2010 8:06 pm

ElectricPuppy wrote:What I really wish MS would do is strip the OS down to its bare-essentials and get rid of all those services and background bullshit that they run just in case. It's stupid. Here we are running multicore CPUs are many thousands of megahurts, and it STILL takes several minutes to boot up?

/rant


:idk:

My Win7 64 bit boot is less than 30 seconds...and that's on my < $1K "budget" machine:

Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz Quad-Core CPU (clocked cool and stable @ 3.6 Ghz)
Intel DP55WG LGA 1156 P55 ATX Intel Motherboard
Kingston SSDNow V Series 64GB Solid State Drive (boot)
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM SATA II Hard Drive (apps, storage)
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 PC3 12800
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ZALMAN 120mm 2 Ball Low-noise Copper CPU Cooler
...and I already had a 4U case, DVD & PS

It tears through any app I've thrown at it. DVD encoding takes minutes instead of hours now.
Best Regards, James
--
http://www.carbon111.com
User avatar
carbon111
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:42 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby ElectricPuppy » Fri May 28, 2010 8:34 pm

I think the key magics for you there Carbon is a) it's Win7, where they made an effort to reduce the boot time, and b) you built it yourself so it's not preloaded with a bunch of crap.
User avatar
ElectricPuppy
The Banned Man
 
Posts: 7102
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 10:16 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby carbon111 » Fri May 28, 2010 8:40 pm

The OS is on a SSD as well. Seriously, this box screams! :jam:

The sheer amount of power you can get these days for around a grand boggles my mind - this replaced a four year old pentium D machine that cost me twice as much to build and was an absolute slug by comparison.
Sssslllllooooooowwwww. :samsh:

Cheers! :drink:
Best Regards, James
--
http://www.carbon111.com
User avatar
carbon111
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:42 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby Plink Floyd » Sat May 29, 2010 3:34 am

Win 7 64 is good for me, so far. My bargin box (dual core 2.2 GHz, 4Mb, cheapo MB, a couple of SATA II 7200s) boots to the login screen in 20 seconds or so.

But I wouldn't have it excetp for this: My XP machine crashed (wife DLed a virus :mad: ), and when I tried to reload th OS I found they weren't supporting XP SP1, which is what my original disk was. That means, if you didn't keep a copy of SP2 handy, yer outta luck.

No big expense to me, though; educational versions of Win b cheap! I got 2 copies of Win7 (32 & 64) for $20 ea. And Adobe CS 4 and MS Office 2010 were FREE! Now, if only Cakewalk and NI would be so generous...
User avatar
Plink Floyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 6323
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:13 am

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby Plink Floyd » Sat May 29, 2010 3:39 am

ElectricPuppy wrote:...What I really wish MS would do is strip the OS down to its bare-essentials and get rid of all those services and background bullshit... /rant


I wish more good apps would run on Linux...
User avatar
Plink Floyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 6323
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:13 am

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby MetroSonus » Sat May 29, 2010 2:14 pm

ElectricPuppy wrote:I think the key magics for you there Carbon is a) it's Win7, where they made an effort to reduce the boot time, and b) you built it yourself so it's not preloaded with a bunch of crap.



It's also a quad 2.6 :lol: I have one at work I use for video editing.


I think in general the problem for most people who have a multifunction PC, it's all the TSR programs that wait to update and detect your devices that kills a PC. In contrast if you never put anything on but drivers and your music apps, a typical pc would fly..... all those TSRs slow the boot time too.
User avatar
MetroSonus
My style, is the best style.
 
Posts: 8459
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby Plink Floyd » Sun May 30, 2010 1:26 am

I haz failful estimate skillz. I just timed my boot-up @ 40 seconds to the login screen, then 20 more to be able to do anything. Some of that time is McAfee, some is MS home network, plus some idunno.

I want SONAR to run on Linux. Reaper does, but, so far, I'm not getting along with him.
User avatar
Plink Floyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 6323
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:13 am

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby carbon111 » Sun May 30, 2010 1:29 am

MetroSonus wrote:It's also a quad 2.6


...clocked at 3.6 GHz :grin: ...And the OS is on a Solid State Drive. :love:

In contrast if you never put anything on but drivers and your music apps, a typical pc would fly..... all those TSRs slow the boot time too.


This is critical. My only background app is anti-virus.
Best Regards, James
--
http://www.carbon111.com
User avatar
carbon111
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:42 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby Plink Floyd » Sun May 30, 2010 2:02 am

Isn't it wunnerful to have a music PC to call your own? This is my first. I, too, only have anti-virus as TSR (as far as I know). I originally vowed to omit even the internetz from it, but I relented. Running a sneaker network to the basement's a bitch. :grin:
User avatar
Plink Floyd
Moderator
 
Posts: 6323
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 6:13 am

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby MetroSonus » Sun May 30, 2010 1:24 pm

if you really wanted too, you make separate accounts under windows for each purpose with specific permissions and apps for each one. You could have a music account with nothing in it and then a general use account with acrobat, firefox or whatever all loaded. that would be an alternative to having separate computers.
User avatar
MetroSonus
My style, is the best style.
 
Posts: 8459
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:20 pm

Re: Simple Hardware Question...

Postby deaf dunderkwac » Mon May 31, 2010 11:01 am

Plink Floyd wrote:I haz failful estimate skillz. I just timed my boot-up @ 40 seconds to the login screen, then 20 more to be able to do anything. Some of that time is McAfee, some is MS home network, plus some idunno.

I want SONAR to run on Linux. Reaper does, but, so far, I'm not getting along with him.
I also don't care for the reaper. Mainly because I don't record 'audio' at all.
Personally I never found anything useful about Linux for audio. I could get ardor to work (poorly) but Wine, when I tried it, failed for the programs I like to use. I have a linux ubantu usb thingy and cd for failure recovery (when the hard drives start to die it has saved many a file) and I've been tempted to try LMMS but I'm far too lazy to go that route.

I quite like my pc even though I run XP32 and 64...
no crashes no bluescreens, PC works just fine for me.

I suppose if I had to continue to use Logic I'd have to buy one of those expensive dongles.
User avatar
deaf dunderkwac
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:28 pm

Next

Return to KSS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest