Microphones: Is this thing on?

Keyboards, Synths, Samplers and Groove Boxes.

Moderators: MetroSonus, Plink Floyd

Microphones: Is this thing on?

Postby Plink Floyd » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:38 pm

I don't know in which sub-forum this should go. I'll let ModeroSonus sort it.

Anyone care to discuss/list mics? We probably all have at least one. Even if you don't sing, you need to vocode your naughty robot lyrics. :grin:

I'm no expert, so I'll just list a few I've used.

The first 'good' mic I bought was a headworn Shure SM-10. I moved around too much, though, and the conductors in the cord were always breaking. I finally eschewed it for a couple venerable SM58s.

I bought them used in the early 80s, used and abused them for fifteen years, dropped them, swung them around my head by the cords, regularly bathed them in beer fumes, and sold them for around what I paid for them.

A few years ago, I got a $30 Behringer XM8500. (LOL at the name. Geez, can't they even try to disguise the fact that they reverse engineer stuff? What's next, the Juniper-8?) Like lots of their stuff, it's good enough, especially for the price. It has more bottom than the 58, but that's what EQ is for. I rigorously A/B tested the Beh and the 58 by side by side recording a bit of acoustic piano, and the highly scientific Jingling Keys Test, and I could EQ them to sound exactly the same (to my ears). Maybe it won't handle as much SPL, idunno. It's probably not as robust, but for the price, hey, it's a Timex.

I also mounted an EV 649b dynamic mic on my tenor sax. I still have it somewhere. It looks like this:

TopCat and I have Oktava 319s. I may (or maybe he will) blather more about them if anyone so desires.
I have the shockmounts for mine, neener neener, TC :grin:
Plink Floyd

Re: Microphones: Is this thing on?

Postby MetroSonus » Sat Apr 23, 2011 12:45 pm

whoops.. keyboards synths, microphone, no I don't find it, but who woulda thunk eh? I updated the forum title.